Home Chalkboard NBAS School Board elects new officers

NBAS School Board elects new officers


New Buffalo Area Schools Board of Education members voted in new officers at their first meeting of 2017 Monday, Jan. 10. Members voted for Chuck Heit, who served as the Board Vice President, to be the new Board President. The new Vice President is Lee Artz. New Secretary is Lisa Werner, while Treasurer is Pano Arvanitis.

Board members also approved the following items: the appointment of Thrun Law Firm as General Counsel; the designation of NBAS Superintendent Dr. Jeffrey Leslie, high school principal Craig Stafford, Administrative Assistant to the Superintendent Yvonne Homolka, high school secretary Devinnie Wysocki to issue work permits and the designation of Leslie to sign necessary paperwork for the sale/purchase of district properties and other documents required by the district.

In other business, Board members approved the declaration of January as School Board Recognition Month.

Board members approved that the Board of Education be recognized as the policy holder for the New Buffalo 5-C Education Association regarding employee health insurance benefits per the Public Employee Rela tions Act. Board members approved the hiring of the following coaches: Nathan Tripp as seventh grade girls’ basketball coach, Jessica Conrad as eighth grade girls’ basketball coach and Eric Selby as middle school wrestling coach.

Board members approved sending Werner to the National School Board Association conference in Denver, Colorado for an amount not to exceed $2200, with Werner, Arvanitis, Artz and Black voting in favor of the motion and Magro and Heit being the two dissenting votes.